How looks Gandalf based on the book, LOTR. Guessing with DALL·E

Fredric Cliver
3 min readJul 30, 2022
“A Light in the Dark” by Matt Stewart

I’ve got approved to use DALL·E this today. So I go to use the famous image synthesizing AI just right away.

I was curious how the AI would draw the white wizard.

“Gandalf was shorter in stature than the other two; but his long white hair, his sweeping silver beard, and his broad shoulders, made him look like some wise king of ancient legend. In his aged face under great snowy brows his eyes were set like coals that could suddenly burst into fire.”

This is a description of Gandalf from a website, Tolkien Gateway

The output from DALLE is quietly far from what I expected.

Open AI, DALLE

It’s cute, and it might be a good inspiration if I make a figure. But I wanted an illustrated Photo. So I put a few words at the start of the description.

A realistic photo of Gandalf… [ and so on ]

--

--

Fredric Cliver

Majored in Physics, self-taught and worked in the IT industry as a Dev/Design/Planning for 11 years. And I had run my Startup for 3 years. I fancy a ☔️ 🇬🇧